Dear Fellow Texans:

We won the March 4th  2014 Republican Primary and now we move on to the November 4, 2014 General Election.  If you vote in one of the ten counties in our district, then I am asking for your vote and your support.

 Governor Perry appointed me to serve as a Justice on the 9th Court of Appeals to fill the position of Justice David Gaultney, who retired. It is an honor to serve on the court with a wonderful group of Justices, and to be the first woman to serve as a Justice on the 9th Court of Appeals.

I may not get to meet you in person because time simply does not allow for me to do so.  I will endeavor to work hard and do my very best every day as I continue to serve on the court.  And, I will continue to respect the rule of law and uphold the solemn oath I have taken.  Please view  to find out more about me on the ElectJusticeLeanneJohnson Website and about how you can help with the campaign.  And thank you for your time and support.


Justice Leanne Johnson

About The Ninth Court of Appeals

 From the  Court’s Website

The Ninth Court of Appeals serves 10 counties in Southeast Texas. The Court was created by the legislature in 1915 and currently has jurisdiction over cases in the ten counties listed below. The justices on the Court are Chief Justice Steve McKeithen, Justice Charles Kreger, Justice Hollis Horton and Justice Leanne Johnson.

The Legislature has divided the State into fourteen courts of appeals districts. Each court has at least three justices — a chief justice and two justices. There are now eighty justices serving on the fourteen courts of appeals. Effective January 1, 2005, the 78th Legislature increased the number of justices on the Ninth Court of Appeals from three to four.

The Court serves the following 10 counties:

  • Hardin
  • Jasper
  • Jefferson
  • Liberty
  • Montgomery
  • Newton
  • Orange
  • Polk
  • San Jacinto
  • Tyler
2014 Republican Primary Election Dates

Election Day: March 4, 2014
Early Voting: February 18-28
More Info: